~Conversation Hearts Banner~

When I think of Valentine’s Day candy I think of two things: Chocolate and Conversation Hearts. I  can remember being a child and reading waaaay too far into those hearts, “oh wow, I just got a ‘be mine’ heart from Jason…I wonder if that was on purpose? He DOES laugh at all my jokes…” 🙂 The taste of the candy is another story entirely–>yuck! I was trying to come up with an idea for a cute/unique banner to make for Mikayla’s room and inspiration struck! I could make BIG conversation hearts! YES! Yes! YES! So, here are the supplies you will need: Heart Shapes from Michael’s, scrapbooking/cardstock paper, letters, Mod Podge, crepe paper, tacky glue, a hole punch and glitter—>because glitter makes EVERYTHING better! Okay, so on with the tutorial: You need to pull out one of the hearts. BTW, these were under a buck fifty for 12 from Michaels. You could also create your own heart template and put it onto 1/8 inch MDF and cut the hearts outs with your scroll saw! The next step is to find cardstock or scrapbooking paper in shades of pink, purple, white, blue, and yellow. Trace a heart onto each of these colors and cut them out.

Next up you get to use  The Mod Podge, slather some of this ALL OVER the back of your cardstock and attch it to a heart cut-out. Make sure you smooth any air bubbles out. Do this with the remaining four hearts. Sorry I don’t have a picture here, I realized this after the fact but it really is a bit tricky remembering to record every step. I will get better though and I think when you see a picture of the finished project it will all make more sense 🙂 So next up (while your hearts are drying) you need to decide what your hearts will say and make letters to spell the words out, you can also buy letter stickers from Michaels or any other craft store (if you buy stickers they don’t need to be modge podged down, they will obviously just stick.) I happen to own a BEAUTIFUL Silhouette (JUST purchased it and it is Wicked Awesome!) and so I just picked out the font and phrases I wanted and the machine did all the printing and cutting for me! Okay so now you need to use your Mod Podge to affix your phrases onto your hearts. Once those are dry you need to apply a thin Layer of Mod Podge to the top of the heart, over the paper and letters. Don’t worry->it dries clear! Okay next step is punching two holes at the top of the heart that you can string ribbon through later. Get your crepe paper ready!

Okay so now you need to accordian fold your crepe paper starting at one end

So at this point you need to add a line of glue to the bottom part of the accordian fold and attach it to your heart like so…BTW, pretend that this heart has your cutesy paper and sayings already Modge Podged to it:)

front view

Back view. You need to keep accordian folding and gluing ALL THE WAY AROUND the heart! You can then trim up the edges as short as you’d like and I thought my hearts needed some umph so I ran a thin line of tacky glue along the edges and sprinkled light pink glitter! The last step is to string ribbon through it and hang it in your daughter’s room while she is away at school—>Surprise! Here are a few pictures of the finished product!

I like how the glitter is really noticeable in this picture

That’s it friends! If you have any questions or comments type away! Hoping you have a “Heart”felt “conversation” with the ones you love!

~Chris

I linked up to:

Tatertots and Jello

Photobucket

Making

Sumo Sweet Stuff

Keeping It Simple

BWS tips button

mmm button

Gettin' Krafty With It

lil luna link party button

Photobucket

HookingupwithHoH

Beyond The Picket Fence

Get your craft on Thurs.

http://tatertotsandjello.blogspot.com

23 responses to “~Conversation Hearts Banner~

  1. I love them. They make me feel oh so nostalgic.

  2. Love the banner! The convo hearts a adorable and I love the glitter too! Very cool blog. Stop by when you get the chance!

  3. So cute and creative, I love it! (Thanks for your nice comments on my post)

  4. Those are just adorable! I love the glitter edges.

  5. I’ve always wondered how conversation hearts can look so pretty and taste so gross. I love your banner, so pretty. I featured you today on my valentine’s day roundup 🙂

    http://sunshineandchaucer.blogspot.com/2011/01/valentines-day-roundup-2.html

  6. Oh wow, thank you Jennifer!!

  7. Thank you so much for posting this! I just found your blog through tatertots and jello and I love it. I can’t wait to make this for my daughter’s 2nd birthday party, the theme is love and hearts. It will be so cute!

  8. Oh that’s GREAT! Wow, that makes me really happy Jackie 🙂 Keep checking back, hopefully I can keep inspiring you. I have more upcoming projects that involve love and hearts!

  9. This is sooooo CUTE! I love how you used the crepe paper around the edges-perfect touch! Thanks for linking this up at Gettin’ Krafty With It!

  10. Glitter does make everything better…!

    I love conversation heart decorating…{and you did a great job making them classy}…

    If you have a moment, please link up to Creative Juice Thursday!
    http://momnivoresdilemma.blogspot.com/2011/01/creative-juice-thursday-7-freshly.html


    nicolette

  11. Great idea! Thanks for joining Get your craft on Thursday at Life As Lori!

    I’m having a Valentine Party that will be up until 2-14-11. I would love for you to join me!
    http://lifeaslori.blogspot.com/2011/01/valentine-party.html
    Lori

  12. You are amazing, Juls and I have been browsing and going on and on about how great your work is! I love this banner!

  13. You are very talented! I have enjoyed looking through all your projects this morning.:)

  14. Pingback: Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

