Framed He”Art”

Hey everyone! Today I am making a framed piece of artwork. Do you like how I do everything with these conversation hearts BUT eat them? LOL  I really think that the only reason these have been around so long is strictly because of the cute messages on them —> I KNOW it isn’t the great taste. It reminds me of a cross between chalk and Pepto–>mmmmmmm Any-who, back to business:)This tutorial will be JUST as easy as the magnet tutorial only a little more time-consuming. So, first you need to run out and purchase these darling little candies and a frame (find one dirt cheap from your local thrift store) in any size.

So, I just want you to know how easy hard it was for me to take this gorgeous portrait out of this frame found at Goodwill, to throw away such a masterpiece….it hurt, it really did—> Aaaaaaaaaaand I’m over it 🙂 SO, next thing you need is white spray-paint or spray paint in whatever color tickles your fancy. Do lime green for all I care. Okay, wait don’t do that. We are friends and friends don’t let friends use lime green 🙂 Just in case you don’t know what a bottle of spray paint looks like—>BEHOLD

Pretend that a beam of light lit up this can while heavenly angels sang, “ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh” Okay, next you need to find all those grocery store adds that didn’t have ANY decent specials this week and put them to good use!

 

Now, it’s time to shake what your mamma gave you, or what you bought at Wal-Mart. We are talking about the can of paint mind YOU! Now give that frame several thin coats of paint until it looks royalty-ready 🙂

Okay, while you were waiting for that to dry you should have been onto the next step. What? You haven’t done the next step–>Why Not?! Oh yes, because I haven’t given it to you yet…right 🙂   SO, the next step is taking the piece of glass you removed from the frame and cleaning both sides of it with your favorite glass cleaner, now lay it on a flat surface. Get your glue gun warming up and now tear into that wonderful bag of disgusting  yummy conversation hearts. I went through and picked out the best looking ones and then arranged them on the glass in a heart shape and filled it in before gluing. I strongly recommend doing it the way I did and then you can pick up each heart, put a dab of glue on the bottom and put it right back into its designated crevice. Remember to keep space all around the heart so that the glass piece fits back inside the frame.

 Now I just put the glass piece in, pushed down the tabs in the back and that’s it. I knew I would be putting it in my daughter’s room and her walls are purple so it would look cute for the purple to be a backdrop. If you prefer to find a cute piece of scrapbooking paper and cut it to size it would look great behind the heart and then you just close up the back like you normally would! Here are a few pictures of the frame in it’s new home. I hope you enjoyed this and can maybe come up with your own spin on this! If you do, show me!

I think she likes her new home next to Zee, the kitty 🙂 TaTa for now!

~Chris

Gettin' Krafty With It

Domestically Speaking

lil luna link party buttonPhotobucket

HookingupwithHoH

Beyond The Picket Fence

Get your craft on Thurs.

http://tatertotsandjello.blogspot.com

Photobucket

53 responses to “Framed He”Art”

  1. Great idea – I too think it is the sayings that make these candies so cute. But then again, most kids don’t reallly taste candy, they just eat it as fast as they can. Or is that only my child?

  2. LOL, oh no–>it’s EVERY child!

  3. I ♥ your heart! Seriously, what a great idea to just use the glass with nothing behind it- brilliant. I actually eat the hearts but only certain colors. Thanks for linking this up to Gettin’ Krafty With It!

  4. This is fabulous. I am featuring this at somedaycrafts.blogspot.com. Grab my “featured” button.

  5. I love this idea… I agree convo hearts are only good for reading and decorating… NOT eating…

  6. This is fabulous! I love it!

  7. This is beautiful!! I think I might just have to make one as well. Thanks for the awesome idea.

  8. WAY better use of conversation hearts than eating them! Great job!

  9. This is lovely, saved on my to do list.

  10. This is insanely cute!! Such a good idea. Thanks for sharing.

  11. LOVE this cute candy hearts frame! So adorable and creative! Can’t wait to try it out and display my own! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  12. They are disgusting to eat, aren’t they? I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks so! This is absolutely GENIUS! I totally LOVE it!

  13. This is SUPER cute! I love it. But I gotta say. I eat those. It’s true! But only the brand that comes in the little boxes. I don’t like the other ones. I know. I eat cream pumpkins for Halloween too. My husband says to send all disgusting candy my way. I’m bound to like it!

    Anyway, regardless of taste, or lack of it (and yes, some of them DO taste like Pepto) this is super cute!

  14. Pingback: Tweets that mention Framed He”Art” | my creative departure -- Topsy.com

  15. Hi!! This is way cute!! I am highlighting you on my top 15 V-day crafts thus far!

    SIMPLE AS 1-2-3
    http://simpleas1-2-3.blogspot.com/

  16. Too cute!!!! Thank you for sharing your adorable ideas with us. I made this the other day and posted it on my blog. I sent everyone over here to get instructions on how to make it. Thank you!
    http://tobyandtammythornton.blogspot.com/2011/01/conversation-heart-frame.html

  17. Oh wow, thanks Tammy. I appreciate you doing that and I’m excited to see your version of it!!

  18. Will definitely use this in my classroom – can adapt it for a Valentine’s edible (ewww) art project and my kids’ parents will love it!

  19. Featured this over at Gettin’ Krafty With It! Feel free to swing by and grab a featured button. Hope you’ll be linking up again this week!

    http://kraftykat76.blogspot.com/2011/01/gettin-krafty-with-it-4.html

  20. Pingback: Hookin Up with HoH #33

  21. You’ve been featured because you rock and I love your project!!

    Hookin’ Up with HoH #33

    Stop by and grab a button! You deserve it. 😉

    ~Allison @ House of Hepworths

  22. Pingback: 9 Conversation Heart Crafts · Home and Garden | CraftGossip.com

  23. This is very cute, I’ve featured you on Craft Gossip here
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/9-conversation-heart-crafts/

    If you would like a “featured by” button, you can grab one here!
    http://homeandgarden.craftgossip.com/grab-a-craft-gossip-button/

  24. Pingback: Easy Valentine’s Day Project | accordingtocarey.com

  25. Pingback: Easy Valentine’s Day Project | accordingtocarey.com

  26. Pingback: Lil’ Luna Link PARTAY! #9 - Lil' Luna

  27. Pingback: Lil’ Luna Link PARTAY! #9 | freshimport

  28. What kind of glue did you use?? I love this! Thanks for the tutorial!!

  29. This may be a stupid question but r the candies on the outside of the glass or the inside??

  30. Really beautiful…. wat a neat idea..and the heart is so colorful!

  31. Cute! Are the hearts glued behind the glass or on top of the glass?

Leave a Reply

