Heart”Felt” Tutorial

Hello–>HELLO! I am back with a tutorial! So this technique for using felt is nothing new. EVERYONE has done it 🙂 This is just a different spin on it. Instead of using a wreath form that would cost at least $3 (and that is WITH a 40 percent off coupon) I used a heart-shaped plate from the 99 cents store.

So while you are out picking up your plate you also need to stop by Joanne’s and purchase one and a half yards of red felt or pink felt, or split it up and do both red AND pink–>whatever floats your boat. As long as you end up with a yard and  half of felt the colors make no difference! Make sure to take your 40 percent off coupon so that you keep your total under five bucks! Okay so as long as you have a glue gun, glue sticks and scissors at home you are set to go! Now comes the tedious part…you need to find a circle template and cut out about a bajillion circles (this is the perfect time to pop in a movie for you and the kids or if the kids are napping catch up on your favorite guilty pleasures!) So I used ribbon spool as my template but you could also use the top of a glass or a coffee mug, it makes no difference. You WILL end up using the entire yard and half.

This is what your circles should look like. Okay so once I had cut up about 3/4 yard of the fabric into circles I took a break and started gluing them onto my plate b/c it helps to see what your beautiful project is going to look like to keep you motivated–>aka, my hand was tired from all the cutting and I desperately needed a break! 🙂 Take one circle and fold it in half like so… 

Then fold it in half again…

1. I know I need a manicure–>don’t judge 🙂 2. The bottom right hand corner is where you will place your glob of glue and then you will position it on your plate. There is no science to how you do this,the only instruction I will give you is start on the outer edge of your heart and work in or across. Also, I flipped my plate and attached the felt to the BACK of it because the plate had a slight inward curvature and I didn’t want that…

Isn’t that Gorgeous?!?! Like I said, no rhyme or reason to how you place the felt but make sure it’s all close together, no gaps! Here it is completed…

Still thinking of embellishing it in some way but won’t touch it until I am absolutely sure! You could also glue a piece of ribbon onto the back to create a hanger and use it as a wreath in your house or on your font door (which I still might possibly do myself)

Have a wonderful day!

~Chris

lil luna link party button

HookingupwithHoH

Beyond The Picket Fence

http://tatertotsandjello.blogspot.com/2011/01/weekend-wrap-up-party-and-good-works.html

Photobucket

72 responses to “Heart”Felt” Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Heart”felt” Remix | my creative departure

  2. Great Idea!

  3. I think I can do this!! Thanks for the info … looks like fun!
    xo
    Jill

  4. That’s soooo cute! Love it!! I’m going to try to do this before {heart} day!
    Shantel @ http://www.itsapricelesslife.blogspot.com

  5. So cute – I am all about thrifty – when I see the cost of the wreaths and balls – I cringe- great idea!

  6. I love that! I’ve seen similar techniques with wreaths, but I really like how full and RED it looks to make a complete heart like that. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I LOVE your heart!! And that you used a cheapo plate was ingenious! 🙂

  8. I love it!! That looks fabulous in your display.

  9. So cute! I will be featuring your project this Thursday at my weekly link party, Hookin Up with HoH #34.

    I’m letting you know in advance as I’ll be out of town during the party and will be unable to notify you on Thursday.

    Please feel free to stop by and grab a button on Thursday!

    ~Allison @ House of Hepworths

  10. What a great idea, I can’t wait to give it a try! Love the cheap plate idea too :0)

  11. I love it! FYI, felt is on sale at my local JoAnns (I assume they all have sales at the same time) for $2.99 a yard this week.

  12. Awesome! 100 times quicker than making knitted roses.

  13. I think this is great, and don’t think it needs embellishing… Unless you felt like hitting it with some glitter spay. That might do it. Great project, and have you tried it with squares? 🙂

  14. Awesome gorgeous project. Cut those circles with a sizzix or Big Shot. Easy peasy!

  15. Great idea! I bet it would be gorgeous in white felt, too….or multicolored! (And I feel like a fool because I paid 2.49 for that same plate at Target. Darn Target!!)

  16. Great idea! Love it so much I linked to it! Can’t wait to get my felt to start! Thanks for sharing!

  17. this is so cute! I’m definitely doing this tomorrow.. red or pink.. red or pink.. hmm.

    • awesome girl–>do it and I want to see pictures!!! Either way will look cute but I def think I want to try a pink one next–>you could also mix the two colors like I did witht he felt balls!!! Have fun 🙂

  18. this is a fabulous idea! if you’re feeling extra creative, try using upcycled felted wool sweaters, i know i am!

    • I definitely thought about using felt sweaters but didn’t have enough in my stash (is it crazy that I have a stash of wool sweaters??LOL) in the colors that I wanted but I did make some beautiful rolled flowers for another project out of some of my felt sweaters! Thank you for the compliment!

  19. Totally adorable! If I get one made I’ll use a plate hanger to display it – I think.

  20. Love this! So adorable!!!! Just a question on how you attached the folded circles. The other tutorials I’ve seen sew the folded point together. Did I read that right that you only attached the circles with the hot glue? That sounds so much more efficient! Also, usually I try to work with felted wool sweaters but I was wondering if you thought that the felt that you purchase at the store could be cut with a circle punch. It seems like that might be a little less work but then again maybe the circle punch would get dulled… Curious to know your opinion. Thank you. Great post!

    • Thank you Kelly 🙂 Yes, you heard right just a dab of hot glue worked beautifully! It can be cut with a Big Cuts punch, I belive it’s by sizzix. I hear that it needs to be at least 5/8, whatever that means. I personally don’t own one 🙂 As far as a regular circle punch I have no clue. If youfind out let me know! Yes I like working with felted wool sweaters as well 🙂 Thanks again!

  21. Wow – I LOVE this! I’ve included a link from my blog and can’t wait to make my own 🙂

  22. Pingback: Hookin Up with HoH #34

  23. Love this idea! Can you tell me how you made the “love” banner?

  24. Okay, this is awesome! My paint chip art was featured by HOH too, but I couldn’t stop looking at yours! I love that you can change up the theme or holiday by getting a different plate shape and felt color. I can’t find how to follow you, which is a bummer! I’m a new blogger, I’d love if you’d stop by for a visit!

  25. That heart is gorgeous! Thanks for the tutorial.

  26. Pingback: How-To: Ruffled Felt Heart | delta.fundacionitm.com

  27. Love this! I’m curious what kind of glue you used.

  28. This is lovely! And your tutorial is so easy to follow. I love that. Using the plate is a fantastic idea. Not only did it save money, but I like it better in the end. Can’t beat that. Thanks for linking up to our Friday Flair!

  29. Pingback: Stacy Sews - Diary of a Fabric Junkie » Blog Archive » Linky Thursday

  30. Great tutorial and thanks for sharing!

  31. This is so Valentine! Thanks for creating a tut for us.
    It’s so bEaUTiFuL!

  32. Pingback: The Motherload » Amy’s Notebook 02.02.11

  33. Pingback: How-to: Ruffled Felt Heart | Interior Designing Blog

  34. Pingback: From Outside the Frame | A Dusty Frame

  35. Pingback: Heart Felt Tutorial by My Creative Departure | Annie Dee's Designs

  36. Pingback: Manualidades del Dia de los Enamorados: Corazón de fieltro muy romántico - Guia de MANUALIDADES

  37. Fun idea! Getting my brain percolating. And that’s just beautiful!

  38. Pingback: Valentine’s crafts: Felt wreath, heart | Frugal York County

  39. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Craft Ideas | Paula Weigel

  40. Pingback: elemento di disturbo

  41. That is gorgeous! And really you don’t need any embellishments! But if you have to do something, perhaps spritz it with some glitter and let that dry to give it some sparkle!

    I can envision a gorgeous snowman with this type of crafting, even a pumpkin! Thanks for sharing!

  42. Pingback: Great Ideas -- ♥ Valentine's Day ♥ {2}

Leave a Reply

