~Doily Wreath~

I FINALLY completed this Doily Wreath for Mikayla’s door! I was inspired by Madigan Made who created a heart-shape Doily Wreath that was super cute! I decided to make a circular one and purchased the ten inch foam wreath from the Dollar Tree along with FOUR 100 packs of Doilies–>Yes, you did read right–>400 DOILIES! I began by plugging in my glue gun and then opening one package at a time and separating each and every doily.

 

I then faced it down and pinched it right in the middle (gathering it ) like so…

I sooooooo forgot to mention the key point to accomplishing this time-consuming task—>you must sit on your rear and watch television! I know, not very appealing but it’s a MUST 🙂 I used football Sundays as a perfect way of completing this. Although my distaste for football has diminished greatly I still find it hard to SIT for THREE HOURS and do NOTHING. My husband is a huge football fan but he always puts me first. If I asked him to stop watching football forever (which I never would) I have no doubt that he absolutely would (even though it would kill pain him to do so) do it. The simple knowledge that he WOULD give it up if I asked him makes me more determined than ever to take a liking to it and sit and spend the time watching it with him. Plus, how many guys want to  will have girl-talk with their wife during commercials–>I KNOW! He’s amazing! LOL Wowee Wow Wow, however did I get so lucky?? Okay, so before embedding your tush into your sofa may I suggest you also equip yourself with plenty of glue sticks and a nice cold beverage before parking it 🙂 Now you begin the lovely task of gluing your doilies to the wreath form.

I’m not gonna lie–>it took me two Sunday games to complete this wreath…but I do believe the end result is well worth it!

I , of course, have to embellish EVERYTHING so I sewed some sweater flowers, rolled felt flowers and glued pearls and rhinestones to it! I do believe I am going to add one more FINAL touch before considering this task complete, I will show you that in a later post 🙂

TaTa for now!

~Chris

Photobucket

lil luna link party button

http://tatertotsandjello.blogspot.com/2011/01/what-have-you-been-working-on-its-time.html

20 responses to “~Doily Wreath~

  1. wow! that is so pretty! i love it! the sweater flowers are awesome!

  2. So do you think we could possibly get a tutorial on making the flowers? Again – LOVE this project! So cute.

  3. This is BEAUTIFUL! I really really love it, great job!

  4. I’d love for you to come link up at Inspire Me Mondays
    http://singingthreelittlebirds.blogspot.com

  5. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!

  6. I love your wreaths! The cupcake liner one is gorgeous, but this is my favorite. The sweater flowers just put it over the top! I love how you go the extra mile, even though it might mean watching more football. Way to be dedicated to your art, girl! And thanks for joining our party, I’m so glad you did.

  7. WOW – that is fantastic! I definitely think it was worth all of our effort!

  8. Oh wow! You are patient! 400 doiles! I think I would still have 350 sitting in my craft closet…lol! But it turned out beautiful! well worth the time you spent! I bet you used a few packs of glue sticks too! I would love for you to link this to my Sew Crafty Party!

    http://wildflowersandwhimsy.blogspot.com/2011/01/sew-crafty-saturday-agape-love-boutique.html

  9. Mirna Barriga

    I followed the link from Whipperberry and it was sooooo worth it ! your project is great! While I would never be able to make more than one a month, I feel that it is more than worth the time. Thank you sooo much for sharing.

  10. Wow. 400 doilies? I’m so impressed at your diligence! This is so gorgeous and full. The addition of the flowers is darling. Perfect for a little girls room! (will be linking back to this on my FB page this week!)

  11. Pingback: Friday Favorites-Valentine Edition!

Leave a Reply

