An old familiar road….

”Friendship isn’t a big thing, it’s a million little things.” ~unknown

Tonight while watching TV with my husband my cell phone rang. It was nearly ten and I knew it could only be one person. My best friend. Stacey. The late calls come less frequent these days because life changes…circumstances change, but I knew without a doubt it was her calling. The question she had for me—->do you want to come over to my parent’s house really quick…I’m in my dress. Do I want to come over??? Of COURSE I do! LOL I live right down the street from her parent’s house because I live in the house my parent’s lived in while I was in high school. I have traveled the road from this house to Stacey’s house too many times to count. I could probably drive there in my sleep….

*us in high school

 “Are we not like two volumes of one book?” ~Marceline Desbordes-Valmore

This time driving there was different though. It is literally only about a mile and a half, maybe two miles away…but it seemed to take forever to get there tonight. Memories raced through my head as I drove…the yard sales, the sleepovers, the time I surprised Stacey by kidnapping her and taking her to Disneyland for her birthday, the times we made Wal-Mart runs in high school to buy nail polish, the many times we ditched school to go to the beach (don’t tell my girls-I’ll deny it.)  I thought of all the life-defining moments we have experienced together. My two marriages, divorce, the births of my girls, heartbreak, and most recently death.

Disneyland for Chan's Birthday 2005

“I value the friend who for me finds time on his calendar, but I cherish the friend who for me does not consult his calendar.” ~Robert Brault 

 

I cried tonight while making that drive. Bittersweet tears. I cried for what our friendship has been and what it will become. For the memories of the many times I have driven down that old familiar road. Will I drive down it again? I am sure I will but it will be different. Never again will I travel down that road, park in front of that house, run up those familiar creaky steps to see my best friend in her wedding gown. It is a memory I will have to forever hold in my heart and in my mind. I can’t remember when exactly was the last time that I had a sleepover in her home. It had to be sometime in high school b/c I was married shortly thereafter, but at the time I know I was not consciously aware that it would be the last time we would stay up late, side by side in bed, talking about our latest crushes. If I had known it would be the last time, I would have savored it more. Tonight was different, I was VERY aware that this was a memory we were making that would never be duplicated again.

Big Sur 2006-tradition

  “We have been friends together in sunshine and in shade.” ~Caroline Sheridan Norton

My best friend is getting married. I can’t tell you how long I have waited for this day. Not because of the excitement of a wedding or because of all the fun activities that lead up to it but because of what it means for her. It means someone to, God willing, grow old with. Someone to tell her how beautiful, unique, funny, tender, creative and truly special she is. A husband, a best friend, the ultimate companion. THAT is what I have always wanted for my best friend–>the BEST!

Hermosa Beach 2007-Chan's Birthday

“Friends are the sailors who guide your rickety boat safely across the dangerous waters of life.” ~Sara and Cate

I can’t tell you how many times Stacey and I have analyzed our friendship. How many times we have laughed and how many times we have cried. I CAN tell you that there is one thing we have always agreed on…the tie that binds us is strong. Friendships like ours are few and far between, I won’t even try to explain it because some things are beyond explanation. There are no words for it and I have never come across a friendship like ours. Sure, I hear about people and their best friends all the time, but not a best friend like mine…not even close 🙂

Southwest Lanes 2008

“The most beautiful discovery true friends can make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.” ~Elisabeth Foley

So now it has come to this, a wedding in Santa Barbara this weekend where I will stand proudly beside my beautiful best friend as her Maid of Honor. I will adjust her veil, fix her train and tell her how stunning she looks. I will look on as she makes her vows and walks through the door of this new chapter in her life. I will be everything she needs me to be on her most special day. I will be exactly what she has always been for me….the face of a familiar and trusted friend, my BEST friend.

Here’s to what the future holds! Love you my friend–>cheers!

~Chris

12 responses to “An old familiar road….

  1. This made me cry! How blessed you both are to have the friendship found in each other.

  2. What a beautiful tribute, this should be your toast at the wedding the whole room would be crying! Everyone wants a friendship like that, you are both so blessed!
    Love, JO

  3. Wow, how very blessed the two of you are to have a friendship like the one you just described. May it continue to grow better thru the years to come…!

  4. What a beautiful tribute!!!Very few people are blessed with such a special friendship. I am one of the lucky ones. My best friend Lori and I have been buddies since high school-40 years ago!!!Thank you for sharing your post!

  5. Again, tears in my coffee. Have a wonderful time this weekend, and savor every moment.
    Xoxox

  6. Beautiful, Christina. Imagine the new memories you’ll be making now as two married women! Two BEAUTIFUL, married women!

Leave a Reply

